Lakme Absolute Matte Lipstick in Red Hot – Review and Swatches

I don’t wear too many dark coloured lipsticks as I don’t have  shapely luscious lips. I used to have very thin lips but after wearing braces, it has made my lips a bit fuller once my teeth got rearranged but it has also changed the shape of my lips and made it a bit uneven.

IMG_0997

I feel that dark shades will accentuate and highlight the uneven and unflattering lip shape so I stick to light shades. Besides I like bright pink shades and would pick a fuchsia over a red anyday!
IMG_0998

Lakme Absolute Matte Red Hot is one of the rare deep shades that I have. After getting Peach Carnation from the Absolute Matte  range and absolutely loving it, I wanted to get a second shade but the SA convinced me to pick this up.

The Lakme Absolute Matte shade in Red Hot is a wonderful earthy red with brown undertones. It is not a true red –  it’s the kind of red that is perfect for Indian complexions. I feel this would look gorgeous on medium skinned and dusky beauties.

IMG_1001

This lipstick is creamy and very pigmented. Though it’s called a matte shade, I feel it has more of a creamy texture. I am in love with the texture of these lipsticks. Just one swipe of this shade is enough for great coverage. You could use a lip liner to define. I did not since I don’t have a matching lip liner. But even if you don’t use a lip liner, this does not bleed at all. There is no need for a lip balm beneath as it is very moisturising and the best part – it does not bleed! If you don’t have a matching lip liner you could apply to the lip line with a fine lip brush. Be careful while applying though as it does stain and if you go outside the lip line, you will end up having to clean your lips and reapply.

Lakme Absolute Matte Red Hot wears very well and I find that wears off uniformly and leaves a nice red stain which lasts 4-5 hours. It looks very glamorous especially for evening looks.

The only annoying thing is that all my Lakme lipsticks have broken at the base. I had the same problem with the Peach Carnation Lipstick and Enrich range. I live in fear of losing the bullet especially when I try to reapply in public.

IMG_1081

Pros

  • Creamy and moisturising
  • Wearable shade of red
  •  Leaves a nice red stain after wearing off

Cons

  • Breaks at the base

I wear this shade occasionally so this would last me a long time. I would love to purchase other shades from this range if only they had more variety and not quite so many purples!

Leave a Reply

