Dove Elixir – Rose and Almond Oil Review

When the Dove Elixir Hair Oil was launched last year/early this year, I was desperate to get my hands on the pretty glass bottle with the petals. Unfortunately, I lived in a remote place where nothing of this sort was available. It got sold out in a few days in the few supermarkets in Pune that stocked it. Finally managed to get it on a trip to Mumbai in February. I had to restrain myself from getting all three and finally got the Rose & Almond Oil Hair fall Rescue and the Hibiscus and Argan Oil for Nourished Shine.

I started using Hair Fall Rescue variant as I have been suffering from massive amounts of hair fall due to straightening/rebonding my hair last year. I have been using it now for over 2.5 months now. 
Dove Hair Fall Rescue, Rose & Almond Oil

The bottle looks so pretty and it looks gorgeous with all the floating petals. The texture of the oil is very light. I use it mainly on my scalp and massage it well about 2 hours before a shampoo. After applying my hair does feel like I have applied oil though it does not have an over powering smell. But if you use a small quantity, you could wear this everyday just to moisturize your scalp. I have been using Patanjali Kesh Kanti Shampoo since the last 5 months and Matrix Hydra Therapie Mask as a conditioner.

IMG_0816 dove

After a shampoo, I can’t feel the difference it has made to my hair as I think the softness can be attributed to the Matrix conditioner. But I have noticed a difference in hairfall. It’s not a drastic reduction but there is a relatively lesser amount of hair on the floor. And I would know, as I do the sweeping and swabbing at home everyday!

Price: Rs 185 for 90 ml

Availability: Now easily available at all chemists, supermarkets and online

Note: The petals initially seemed pretty but they have a tendency to get stuck in the dispenser blocking the flow of oil through the nozzle. I now have to unscrew to nozzle to our out the oil.  

Bottomline: I will continue using it as I think this is helping my hairfall. I use it twice a week and after 2.5 months I am not even at the halfway mark so i guess it will last me a long time. But after this gets over, I shall use the Hibiscus and Argan Oil variant.Thanks to my impulsiveness, I have my hair oil supply set for the entire year. 

I also use it as a make up remover when I run out of cleanser. It would work since it has a mineral oil base.

Verdict: 4/5

Leave a Reply

