Real Techniques Expert Face Brush – Review

Since the last 6 months, I have kind of gotten addicted to the Pixiwoo sisters make up videos on their YouTube channel. They are absolutely gorgeous! Though any attempts to replicate their techniques usually result in disaster, I couldn’t help notice the face brush Sam and Nic kept using to blend and buff foundation.

Real Techniques

I have been in search for a good face brush that blends liquid foundation into the skin. I know everyone swears by the Sigma F80 but I just don’t see myself paying over $30 along with shipping. I ordered the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush from Feelunique a few months back. It arrived in around ten days and cost me GBP 11.95 with free shipping – not really cheap I know, but I am glad I made the investment.

You can read about the Real Techniques Brushes here.

Make up, Brushes, Samantha Chapman

The brush comes packaged in a hard plastic case that keeps it safe from damage. It also helps that Feelunique packed it really well in a cardboard box with Styrofoam beans.

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

My first impression was surprise as it’s a lot smaller than it looks on Youtube as well as on Sam’s face. I was sort of expecting a largish brush to buff in the foundation. The bristles are dense – just the way it should be in a foundation brush.

IMG_1178

It blends liquid foundation like a dream! I smear a blob of foundation on the back of my hand, dip the brush in it and apply from the nose outward. It’s not scratchy at Be I even use it to set the foundation with powder. Due to it’s small size, It’s perfect for blush application as well blending around the corners of the nose and eye area. I have been using this for more than two months now and have washed it a number of times – no shedding at all! I think it’s one of my most used brushes. I have only now stopped using it as its too humid to wear liquid foundation in Mumbai, so I have switched to a powder foundation.

I did think several times about whether I should spend so much on a brush. But I realised that you can get away with cheaper eye shadow brushes, lip brushes, eyeliner brushes. But when it comes to foundation brushes, buffer brushes and blush brushes, you have to upgrade a bit. I really wanted the Sigma F82 but since I could not get it, Ordering this one worked out more feasible. I think I will be using it for a long time and I am waiting for summer to get over so that I can start using it again!

2 thoughts on “Real Techniques Expert Face Brush – Review

  1. Great to know you have knowledge on other brush brands. I started using brushes this year only and am quite liking it. For foundation, I have two from BIC and I love how one of them blends liquid foundation, and someone left a comment at BIC that it is almost like the Sigma brush you mentioned. So I am happy with my brush though I can’t compare as I haven’t used any other.

    • Hey! i got addicted to those pixiwoo videos that’s why I decided to try this brand. Its a bit pricey but works well. I have a wide assortment of brushes.. Even the Camlin brushes work well fro make up esp for lips and eyeliner

Leave a Reply

